RSS

11/14 on 14/15

14 Dec

jhez&rhea

Time really flies so fast that we ourselves did not realize that we’re together for almost a quarter of a lifetime. That is almost going back to Day 1 in school and graduate again in college. But the thing is, it’s not time that matters. While time is the controlling factor in life, the same is not true in love, because love knows no time.

We may speak of dates when we celebrate milestones especially anniversaries. But love is dated forever. Mathematically speaking, boundary value theorem applies only our physical life. But love is metaphysical or even not physical at all. It permeates the cosmos of time and space from all directions. It is something abstract, without any shape, color or bounds. It does not have conditions, but love is a condition in itself.

I recall giving advice to young women in understanding love. Love is just like matter and energy. It cannot be created nor destroyed. It can only transfer from one form to another. Of course it is only just my theory. Love is also unilateral or one-way. This was emphasized in Og Mandino’s “Memorandum from God”:

“For now you know love’s secret, that to receive love it must be given with no thought of its return. To love for fulfillment, satisfaction, or pride is no love. Love is a gift on which no return is demanded. Now you know that to love unselfishly is its own reward. And even should love not be returned it is not lost, for love not reciprocated will flow back to you and soften and purify your heart.  “

The secret in a lasting relationship is not counting on the perfection of ideas and reciprocity of feelings. It does not warrant smoothness but joy in its roughness. It is by accepting things as they are without “if’s” and “but’s”. I am not a person with all desirable traits. I am oftentimes hard-headed and low-tempered. But that is the shallowest part of me. That is only as far as you can see and project. It is only the tip of the iceberg. The bigger part of me is still below sea level. It can be as deep as the deepest known trench to man.

I take this opportunity to thank and love even more Rhea, who never stopped being my girlfriend and partner even after marriage. Thank you for being an “understanding and forgiving mistress” after I have engaged myself with the study of law, which is dubbed as a “jealous and unforgiving mistress” by many. Thank you for supporting my advocacies and loving me the way I am. My promise remains a promise as of this time. But God willing, we will be spending the remaining quarters of our lives in a more comfortable and conducive environment and setup, better than what we already cherish.

This December 14 and 15, 2014, we will be 11 years as spouses and 14 years as couples respectively. Spending a semestral break on these days is already a luxury I was deprived in the last two Christmas seasons.

Rhea: To love you more is not a promise but a commitment I already made myself bound since the day I saw you.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 14, 2014 in Personal

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
