RSS

Rice and shine, it’s 23:59 of 2015!

31 Dec

One minute before the year 2016 starts.

I have to end my 1 year of silent protest; my 12 months of having to let go of something I thought indispensable; that is 365 days without rice or any of its variant.

It might sound like a diet or something, but it’s not. I eat everything I used to eat, sans the rice or any of its variant. That means no “kanin”, “yang chow”, “java rice” “lugaw”, “goto”, “biko”, “suman” or paella; not even brown rice. To supply my carbohydrates, I eat bread. That’s it, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from January 2015 until December 31, 2015.

In a few seconds, I will end the protest happy as I have attained and proven a lot of things. I learned how to live each day without our staple food. I mastered to control my gustatory nerves and tell my brain that bread is also rice. I realized that no matter how you give yourself out in the pursuit of justice, there will always be injustice. I came to know that justice, in some cases, may be served through injustice.

In a few seconds, we will all be welcoming year 2016. On my part, I will be starting another year of “giving up” some things. As to what it is will be revealed next year end like this!

Happy New Year people of this universe!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 31, 2015 in Personal

 

Leave a Reply

 
